December 14, 2017, 02:49:53 PM

Author Topic: Article writing course - suggestions please  (Read 1652 times)

spainter73

• Student
    • View Profile
    • Email
Article writing course - suggestions please
« on: April 01, 2012, 03:08:45 PM »
I've come to realize I need a little help with writing. I am a wedding photographer who collects 1000 emails from bridal shows a year. Having read copyblogger and similar sites and can see some  formulas. I've looked at ebooks from www.menwithpens.ca/books. I've also seen online courses at damnfinewords.com. www.writelikefreddy.com  www.thewriterslife.com and I'm sure there are more.  I'm sure the prices are all over the board and how much of that is justified vs puff I don't know.

Does anyone have a good recommendation for a training course on better blog and sales writing?

Heidi

• Global Moderator
  • Sr. Mentor
    • View Profile
    • WordPress 101 for Boomers
    • Email
Re: Article writing course - suggestions please
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2012, 10:24:11 PM »
If you like copyblogger you may like the ebook Scorecard for Bloggers, Brian Clark is one of the authors, it is available on Problogger.  It includes a way to grade your posts so you know what areas to improve.  Too me though it was too much like taking an English class.  Good content, but work.
Sales copy is different, I don't like many of the courses I see about writing sales copy, since I don't like how they wrote their pitch, I'm not about to pay money to learn how to write like them.  Could be just me.
My favorite book over there is the 31 days to a better blog.  Have some fun doing a different challenge each day from writing an elevator pitch for your blog to promoting your posts, monitoring your niche, setting up an editorial calendar.

benfitts

• Entrepreneur
  • Administrator
  • Mentor
  • Living the life of my dreams NOW, not later.
    • MSN Messenger - benjaminfitts@hotmail.com
    • AOL Instant Messenger - BenjaminFitts
    • View Profile