January 19, 2018, 11:06:06 PM

Author Topic: Personal NAME brand vs. a company name brand  (Read 1809 times)

msellenk

• Student
    • View Profile
    • Made in America Holiday Gifts and Crafts
Personal NAME brand vs. a company name brand
« on: February 02, 2012, 10:08:59 PM »
I am considering changing the branding that I've used for 6 years from my company brand (Pocket Meadow Farm) (which has a limited scope of activities and products) to using my name as a brand (which I have used in my graphic design work). I have philosophical reasons for this: transparency is one, personal integrity, and building on my reputation are others. There's so much out there that you have no idea who is behind — well, compare it to "jackspirko.com" vs. "anonomousbusinessadvice.com". You can clearly see which is better.

I feel that a name has the potential to be much a stronger brand — providing you don't do something really stupid. This is a direction I've been heading in for a few years, but before I jump, I'd like some other opinions. THANKS!

The top logo is what I've been using, the other two are ideas for rebranding in a consistent manner. I'm forgetting how to insert an image in this forum; this is an attachment, which may not show up in the post.

JakeR

• Mentor
    • View Profile
    • JakeFactor.com
Re: Personal NAME brand vs. a company name brand
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 01:51:31 PM »
I would agree if that's where you want to take your business.  Think of names like Lisa Frank, Betty Crocker (fictional I believe, but still), Martha Stewart.  All are personal brands that are highly successful.  I like the simple clean look for the font choice too. Maybe go with a muted oatmeal color for the background and some desaturated greens for other elements on your page.  (sorry, couldn't help myself.  I'm not a graphic designer, but I play one in real life). :D
Resources I use.
Bluehost Web Hosting. Reliable uptime, great interface and amazing customer service.