January 19, 2018, 10:41:47 PM

Author Topic: Store video on server for wordpress site  (Read 2327 times)

KanoJJ

• Student
    • View Profile
    • Email
Store video on server for wordpress site
« on: January 06, 2012, 02:16:37 PM »
I am using host gator and wordpress for my vlog instructional site. I am planning on putting a few of my videos on YouTube but what is an alternative hosting option for video storage so I can link to my blogs. I believe host gator only allows a 10 Meg filesize for upload. I am just starting out and was hoping for some tips and advise.

Josh

• Sr. Mentor
    • View Profile
    • Digital Band Incubator
Re: Store video on server for wordpress site
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 03:35:32 PM »
1. You could always put the video on YouTube and make it private. You could still embed it.

2. Break the video into smaller bites.

Heidi

• Global Moderator
  • Sr. Mentor
    • View Profile
    • WordPress 101 for Boomers
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 05:29:43 PM »
You can ftp the video or any larger files.   That said, I believe youtube will play better around the world, less lag.  You could use something like Amazon's cloud server, along with various tools.  Youtube is easier, link to your blog from Youtube. Think of youtube as a giant search engine which hosts videos.  I was surprised when I started using youtube how much traffic it sent me.

Good advice from Josh. 

KanoJJ

• Student
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2012, 02:37:41 PM »
Thanks for the advise. I'll give YouTube a try.

jackspirko

• Administrator
  • Mentor
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2012, 09:46:42 AM »
I shoot HD video and with some of my longer vids even though they qualify for YouTube I get a lot of aborts when I am uploading stuff over 25 minutes.  This led me to vimeo and NOW I LOVE IT.