January 18, 2018, 03:35:54 PM

Author Topic: Why isn't my site ranked higher?  (Read 1308 times)

Supes

• Student
    • View Profile
    • Resolution Photography
Why isn't my site ranked higher?
« on: December 02, 2012, 01:25:26 AM »
Probably a common question. haha. However I've followed all the rules I know possible. I'm a photographer and over the last few months have posted all my images with unique names for what i want to rank for. Instead of naming the file "img_124" I called it "green_bay_senior_picture_cheer" and put that in the alt tags as well. My site and business doesn't lend itself well to a frequently updated blog (which is what the 5MWJ show seems to center around) and it is pretty heavy on pictures. I use the wordpress SEO plugin that ranks all my pages and most of them are in the green or yellow. Some pages I simply don't have a way of jamming in keywords (the contact us page for example, the idea is to keep it simple).

I'm just not sure what I'm missing? I don't know how to get people to make links to my site naturally. I have a friend/competitor who just started off on his own less than a year ago and despite having a flash based site he is now ranked #1 for the term "green bay senior photographer". He's sorta a friend of mine but I can't really ask him how he's doing it since he's direct competition. :s And some of the people who outrank me aren't even good sites! There's a wedding photographer on there with a cheepo site who has a single page dedicated to shooting highschool seniors yet that guy outranks me too? I've had this site for 4 years! Grr. There are .blogspot sites that outrank me. The flippin YELLOW PAGES search result outranks my actual site. Yep.

My site
www.imagesbyjilane.com