January 19, 2018, 11:04:19 PM

Author Topic: Not yet sure what to do to keep up my regular post  (Read 1741 times)

gnarledwolf

• Student
    • View Profile
    • It Began With A Pencil
    • Email
Not yet sure what to do to keep up my regular post
« on: December 22, 2011, 08:43:56 AM »
hello,
     I started the art blog with the intent to post every other day... one day to create a tutorial, and the next to finish and post it.  I'm trying to appeal to all age groups and skill levels.  Maybe it's just because I'm just starting out, but I do have to figure out a way for it to not take so much time.  I posted my second post yesterday, and it took me 3 hours to prep it.  I'm also reconsidering my format.  I've posted .jpg images at full res because I don't want to have to screw with html code every time on top of having to do the lesson.  A person has to simply click on the link and go the the posted .jpg on which I've put the tutorial for that day. It makes it easy to archive and for people to just download and view offline later if they choose.

-the big problem to this is that search drivers are searching for text and keywords, NOT images, so all it has to go on is my alt text for the image.
-Can someone please take a look at http://www.mattdegelleke.com and tell me if I should stick with this format or resort to html for my lessons? I'm in the middle of relearning everything I've every forgotten about html, but I very much want optimization.

Thanks,
Matt
www.mattdegelleke.com
It Began With A Pencil
creating art on piece at a time.

Josh

• Sr. Mentor
    • View Profile
    • Digital Band Incubator
Re: Not yet sure what to do to keep up my regular post
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2011, 03:56:43 PM »
I think you shouldn't put the info in the image and simply add it to the post. That would allow for search engines to find it and allow you to adjust later should a logo change or whatever.